Saturday, July 21, 2012

Fifth Annual Shirley Jackson Award Winners

"Fifth Annual Shirley Jackson Award Winners By Ian Randal Strock July 16, 2012 The winners of the fifth annual Shirley Jackson Awards—honoring the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic—were handed out at this weekend's Readercon. We detailed the nominees in this article. The winners were voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics (which included Laird Barron, Matthew Cheney, Maura McHugh, Kaaron Warren, and Gary K. Wolfe), with input from a Board of Advisors (including Bill Congreve, Stefan Dziemianowicz, Liz Hand, Jack M. Haringa, S.T. Joshi, Mike O'Driscoll, Stewart O'Nan, Peter Straub, and Ann VanderMeer), and a Board of Directors (including F. Brett Cox, JoAnn Cox, John Langan, Sarah Langan, and Paul G. Tremblay). The winners are: Novel: Witches on the Road Tonight by Sheri Holman (Grove Press) Novella: "Near Zennor" by Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books) Novelette: "The Summer People" by Kelly Link (Tin House 49/Steampunk! An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories, Candlewick Press) Short Fiction: "The Corpse Painter's Masterpiece" by M. Rickert (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Sept/Oct 2011) Single-Author Collection: After the Apocalypse: Stories by Maureen F. McHugh (Small Beer Press) Edited Anthology: Ghosts by Gaslight edited by Jack Dann and Nick Gevers (Harper Voyager)"

No comments:

Post a Comment